Register | Sign In


Understanding through Discussion


EvC Forum active members: 58 (9173 total)
2 online now:
Newest Member: Neptune7
Post Volume: Total: 917,575 Year: 4,832/9,624 Month: 180/427 Week: 93/85 Day: 0/10 Hour: 0/0


Thread  Details

Email This Thread
Newer Topic | Older Topic
  
Author Topic:   Need your input and advice on software
yenmor
Member (Idle past 3733 days)
Posts: 145
Joined: 07-01-2013


Message 1 of 19 (706869)
09-18-2013 10:19 PM


So, I've been working on a software project as a hobby. Well, it's more like an addiction. I would link you to the website that I've created for this project, but that could been seen as soliciting. So, I'm just going to post screenshots here. And to be clear, I'm not here to sell. Just looking for feedback and suggestions.
Anyway, I know there are biologists and chemists here. I need your criticisms on this program/app and suggestions on what I could do next.
So far, I've built the app in both windows 8 metro (touch friendly) and desktop windows. Here's a screenshot of the desktop version.
The tablet version of it is pretty much the same except it's got an awesome periodic table.
Anyway, anyone here want to test my program out and give me some feedback, please tell me and I'll email you a download link.
Thanks.

Replies to this message:
 Message 2 by New Cat's Eye, posted 09-18-2013 10:25 PM yenmor has replied

  
New Cat's Eye
Inactive Member


Message 2 of 19 (706870)
09-18-2013 10:25 PM
Reply to: Message 1 by yenmor
09-18-2013 10:19 PM


Just looking for feedback and suggestions.
Anyway, I know there are biologists and chemists here. I need your criticisms on this program/app and suggestions on what I could do next.
I'd like to take a look at it.
The company I work for blends different chemicals together to manufacture the products we sell. It looks like I might have some use for it and even more, my R&D chemists might get a kick out of it.
We'd offer feedback for sure. Hit me up.
Here's a screenshot of the desktop version.
Just an FYI, you should crop out your task bar when uploading screenshot*. We don't need to see your Spotify and what if you had some porn on there or something....
*ABE: wait, did you already change the image file?
ABE2: we don't have Windows 8, is that a problem?
Edited by Catholic Scientist, : *ABE
Edited by Catholic Scientist, : ABE2

This message is a reply to:
 Message 1 by yenmor, posted 09-18-2013 10:19 PM yenmor has replied

Replies to this message:
 Message 3 by yenmor, posted 09-18-2013 10:32 PM New Cat's Eye has replied

  
yenmor
Member (Idle past 3733 days)
Posts: 145
Joined: 07-01-2013


Message 3 of 19 (706873)
09-18-2013 10:32 PM
Reply to: Message 2 by New Cat's Eye
09-18-2013 10:25 PM


CS writes:
*ABE: wait, did you already change the image file?
Yes, I put a black bar over the taskbar.
ABE2: we don't have Windows 8, is that a problem?
That's why I have 2 versions of this app. There is a metro version you can get from the windows 8 app store. The one in the screenshot will work with anything windows. XP, vista, 7, whatever.
Edit.
Uploading the virus onto my online storage right now. Will pm you a link when it's done.
Edited by yenmor, : No reason given.
Edited by yenmor, : No reason given.

This message is a reply to:
 Message 2 by New Cat's Eye, posted 09-18-2013 10:25 PM New Cat's Eye has replied

Replies to this message:
 Message 4 by New Cat's Eye, posted 09-18-2013 10:46 PM yenmor has replied

  
New Cat's Eye
Inactive Member


Message 4 of 19 (706875)
09-18-2013 10:46 PM
Reply to: Message 3 by yenmor
09-18-2013 10:32 PM


The one in the screenshot will work with anything windows from xp to now. How do I know? Because all our machines in the lab still run on xp.
Yeah, we use XP.
Uploading the virus onto my online storage right now. Will pm you a link when it's done.
Oh, well then nevermind.

This message is a reply to:
 Message 3 by yenmor, posted 09-18-2013 10:32 PM yenmor has replied

Replies to this message:
 Message 5 by yenmor, posted 09-18-2013 10:47 PM New Cat's Eye has replied

  
yenmor
Member (Idle past 3733 days)
Posts: 145
Joined: 07-01-2013


Message 5 of 19 (706876)
09-18-2013 10:47 PM
Reply to: Message 4 by New Cat's Eye
09-18-2013 10:46 PM


CS writes:
Oh, well then nevermind.
I hope you realize that was a joke. The file is a zip file. Inside, you will find the exe and installation files. It's a small program.

This message is a reply to:
 Message 4 by New Cat's Eye, posted 09-18-2013 10:46 PM New Cat's Eye has replied

Replies to this message:
 Message 6 by New Cat's Eye, posted 09-18-2013 10:53 PM yenmor has replied

  
New Cat's Eye
Inactive Member


Message 6 of 19 (706879)
09-18-2013 10:53 PM
Reply to: Message 5 by yenmor
09-18-2013 10:47 PM


I hope you realize that was a joke.
Where was the sarcasm font!?
(also a joke)

This message is a reply to:
 Message 5 by yenmor, posted 09-18-2013 10:47 PM yenmor has replied

Replies to this message:
 Message 7 by yenmor, posted 09-18-2013 11:00 PM New Cat's Eye has replied

  
yenmor
Member (Idle past 3733 days)
Posts: 145
Joined: 07-01-2013


Message 7 of 19 (706880)
09-18-2013 11:00 PM
Reply to: Message 6 by New Cat's Eye
09-18-2013 10:53 PM


Eh, my boyfriend tells me I'm socially awkward like that Dexter the serial killer dude.

This message is a reply to:
 Message 6 by New Cat's Eye, posted 09-18-2013 10:53 PM New Cat's Eye has replied

Replies to this message:
 Message 8 by New Cat's Eye, posted 09-20-2013 12:30 PM yenmor has replied

  
New Cat's Eye
Inactive Member


(1)
Message 8 of 19 (706990)
09-20-2013 12:30 PM
Reply to: Message 7 by yenmor
09-18-2013 11:00 PM


I can't get it to work. Here's the details of the error (I removed my name):
quote:
PLATFORM VERSION INFO
Windows : 5.1.2600.196608 (Win32NT)
Common Language Runtime : 4.0.30319.1
System.Deployment.dll : 4.0.30319.1 (RTMRel.030319-0100)
clr.dll : 4.0.30319.1 (RTMRel.030319-0100)
dfdll.dll : 4.0.30319.1 (RTMRel.030319-0100)
dfshim.dll : 4.0.31106.0 (Main.031106-0000)
SOURCES
Deployment url : file:///C:/Documents%20and%20Settings/*name_removed*/Desktop/Ultimate%20Chemistry%20Toolbox%20Desktop/Application%20Files/Ultimate%20Chemistry%20Toolbox%20Desktop_1_0_1_2/Ultimate% 20Chemistry%20Toolbox%20Desktop.application
ERROR SUMMARY
Below is a summary of the errors, details of these errors are listed later in the log.
* Activation of C:\Documents and Settings\*name_removed*\Desktop\Ultimate Chemistry Toolbox Desktop\Application Files\Ultimate Chemistry Toolbox Desktop_1_0_1_2\Ultimate Chemistry Toolbox Desktop.application resulted in exception. Following failure messages were detected:
+ Exception reading manifest from file:///C:/Documents%20and%20Settings/*name_removed*/Desktop/Ultimate%20Chemistry%20Toolbox%20Desktop/Application%20Files/Ultimate%20Chemistry%20Toolbox%20Desktop_1_0_1_2/Ultimate% 20Chemistry%20Toolbox%20Desktop.application: the manifest may not be valid or the file could not be opened.
+ Manifest XML signature is not valid.
+ SignatureDescription could not be created for the signature algorithm supplied.
COMPONENT STORE TRANSACTION FAILURE SUMMARY
No transaction error was detected.
WARNINGS
There were no warnings during this operation.
OPERATION PROGRESS STATUS
* [9/20/2013 11:28:33 AM] : Activation of C:\Documents and Settings\*name_removed*\Desktop\Ultimate Chemistry Toolbox Desktop\Application Files\Ultimate Chemistry Toolbox Desktop_1_0_1_2\Ultimate Chemistry Toolbox Desktop.application has started.
ERROR DETAILS
Following errors were detected during this operation.
* [9/20/2013 11:28:33 AM] System.Deployment.Application.InvalidDeploymentException (ManifestParse)
- Exception reading manifest from file:///C:/Documents%20and%20Settings/*name_removed*/Desktop/Ultimate%20Chemistry%20Toolbox%20Desktop/Application%20Files/Ultimate%20Chemistry%20Toolbox%20Desktop_1_0_1_2/Ultimate% 20Chemistry%20Toolbox%20Desktop.application: the manifest may not be valid or the file could not be opened.
- Source: System.Deployment
- Stack trace:
at System.Deployment.Application.ManifestReader.FromDocument(String localPath, ManifestType manifestType, Uri sourceUri)
at System.Deployment.Application.DownloadManager.DownloadDeploymentManifestDirectBypass(SubscriptionStore subStore, Uri& sourceUri, TempFile& tempFile, SubscriptionState& subState, IDownloadNotification notification, DownloadOptions options, ServerInformation& serverInformation)
at System.Deployment.Application.DownloadManager.DownloadDeploymentManifestBypass(SubscriptionStore subStore, Uri& sourceUri, TempFile& tempFile, SubscriptionState& subState, IDownloadNotification notification, DownloadOptions options)
at System.Deployment.Application.ApplicationActivator.PerformDeploymentActivation(Uri activationUri, Boolean isShortcut, String textualSubId, String deploymentProviderUrlFromExtension, BrowserSettings browserSettings, String& errorPageUrl)
at System.Deployment.Application.ApplicationActivator.ActivateDeploymentWorker(Object state)
--- Inner Exception ---
System.Deployment.Application.InvalidDeploymentException (SignatureValidation)
- Manifest XML signature is not valid.
- Source: System.Deployment
- Stack trace:
at System.Deployment.Application.Manifest.AssemblyManifest.ValidateSignature(Stream s)
at System.Deployment.Application.ManifestReader.FromDocument(String localPath, ManifestType manifestType, Uri sourceUri)
--- Inner Exception ---
System.Security.Cryptography.CryptographicException
- SignatureDescription could not be created for the signature algorithm supplied.
- Source: System.Security
- Stack trace:
at System.Security.Cryptography.Xml.SignedXml.CheckSignedInfo(AsymmetricAlgorithm key)
at System.Security.Cryptography.Xml.SignedXml.CheckSignature(AsymmetricAlgorithm key)
at System.Security.Cryptography.Xml.SignedXml.CheckSignatureReturningKey(AsymmetricAlgorithm& signingKey)
at System.Deployment.Internal.CodeSigning.SignedCmiManifest.Verify(CmiManifestVerifyFlags verifyFlags)
at System.Deployment.Application.Manifest.AssemblyManifest.ValidateSignature(Stream s)
COMPONENT STORE TRANSACTION DETAILS
No transaction information is available.

This message is a reply to:
 Message 7 by yenmor, posted 09-18-2013 11:00 PM yenmor has replied

Replies to this message:
 Message 9 by yenmor, posted 09-20-2013 7:08 PM New Cat's Eye has not replied
 Message 10 by CosmicChimp, posted 09-20-2013 8:22 PM New Cat's Eye has not replied

  
yenmor
Member (Idle past 3733 days)
Posts: 145
Joined: 07-01-2013


Message 9 of 19 (707020)
09-20-2013 7:08 PM
Reply to: Message 8 by New Cat's Eye
09-20-2013 12:30 PM


Thanks for the info. I was afraid of this. It's a compatibility issue. I'll get back to you on this.
Added by edit.
Question for you. Is the xp machine you got this from on sp3?
The reason I ask is because I hadn't accounted for xp machines that never upgraded to sp3. In order for the app to be compatible with xp machines that are older, I'd have to downgrade my project down to 3.5 or 3.0. Hadn't considered this. Damn.
Edit again.
This is going to take some work to get this to be completely compatible with everything old. Stay tuned. I need to rewrite about 20% of the code.
Edited by yenmor, : No reason given.
Edited by yenmor, : No reason given.
Edited by yenmor, : No reason given.

This message is a reply to:
 Message 8 by New Cat's Eye, posted 09-20-2013 12:30 PM New Cat's Eye has not replied

  
CosmicChimp
Member
Posts: 311
From: Muenchen Bayern Deutschland
Joined: 06-15-2007


Message 10 of 19 (707024)
09-20-2013 8:22 PM
Reply to: Message 8 by New Cat's Eye
09-20-2013 12:30 PM


PLATFORM VERSION INFO
Windows : 5.1.2600.196608 (Win32NT)

This message is a reply to:
 Message 8 by New Cat's Eye, posted 09-20-2013 12:30 PM New Cat's Eye has not replied

Replies to this message:
 Message 11 by yenmor, posted 09-21-2013 1:53 AM CosmicChimp has not replied

  
yenmor
Member (Idle past 3733 days)
Posts: 145
Joined: 07-01-2013


Message 11 of 19 (707037)
09-21-2013 1:53 AM
Reply to: Message 10 by CosmicChimp
09-20-2013 8:22 PM


I saw.
This means I'll have to bring it all the way back to 2.5 or 3.0.

This message is a reply to:
 Message 10 by CosmicChimp, posted 09-20-2013 8:22 PM CosmicChimp has not replied

Replies to this message:
 Message 12 by New Cat's Eye, posted 09-21-2013 10:27 AM yenmor has replied

  
New Cat's Eye
Inactive Member


Message 12 of 19 (707046)
09-21-2013 10:27 AM
Reply to: Message 11 by yenmor
09-21-2013 1:53 AM


Sorry man, that's just the computer that the IT guy at work handed to me when I started.
Our R&D chemists will be on similar machines.

This message is a reply to:
 Message 11 by yenmor, posted 09-21-2013 1:53 AM yenmor has replied

Replies to this message:
 Message 13 by yenmor, posted 09-23-2013 5:14 PM New Cat's Eye has replied

  
yenmor
Member (Idle past 3733 days)
Posts: 145
Joined: 07-01-2013


Message 13 of 19 (707123)
09-23-2013 5:14 PM
Reply to: Message 12 by New Cat's Eye
09-21-2013 10:27 AM


Ok, it almost killed me, but I think I got it. With older machines, I have to downgrade everything to 3.5. Unfortunately, many of the codes I wrote before were for .net 4.5, so they weren't compatible. I had to rewrite some of the subroutines. There was one instance where under 4.5 it took 2 lines of code but after I reverted to 3.5 I had to rewrite it and it took 60 lines!
I will pm you a download link after I've hammered out some minor bugs.

This message is a reply to:
 Message 12 by New Cat's Eye, posted 09-21-2013 10:27 AM New Cat's Eye has replied

Replies to this message:
 Message 14 by New Cat's Eye, posted 09-24-2013 9:45 AM yenmor has replied

  
New Cat's Eye
Inactive Member


Message 14 of 19 (707151)
09-24-2013 9:45 AM
Reply to: Message 13 by yenmor
09-23-2013 5:14 PM


Ok, it almost killed me, but I think I got it. With older machines, I have to downgrade everything to 3.5. Unfortunately, many of the codes I wrote before were for .net 4.5, so they weren't compatible. I had to rewrite some of the subroutines. There was one instance where under 4.5 it took 2 lines of code but after I reverted to 3.5 I had to rewrite it and it took 60 lines!
Dang, that sucks. I hope I represent a significant portion of your potential users, such that you're not wasting your time on this.

This message is a reply to:
 Message 13 by yenmor, posted 09-23-2013 5:14 PM yenmor has replied

Replies to this message:
 Message 15 by yenmor, posted 09-24-2013 2:26 PM New Cat's Eye has replied

  
yenmor
Member (Idle past 3733 days)
Posts: 145
Joined: 07-01-2013


Message 15 of 19 (707199)
09-24-2013 2:26 PM
Reply to: Message 14 by New Cat's Eye
09-24-2013 9:45 AM


No worries, mate.
I've sent another pm with hopefully a compatible version for xp. The app itself is half finished, so don't be too harsh on it. :-)
I know, the UI kinda looks childish to some people, but I hate boring UI's that look like they were built in a hurry for windows 98.
I've been discussing with a couple friends of mine who are now independent developers. See, I was going to put a license, license check, and all of that DRM good stuff in my programs. They have convinced me not to do such thing. Why? Because my apps will get pirated no matter what. Making my buyers jump through hoops will only deter them from buying. My friends took a vow never to put DRM in their programs. And they have been quite successful, actually. Ever since they stopped putting DRM in their apps, those apps have stopped showing up on torrent sites. I guess because it wasn't a challenge anymore for hackers.
I've just taken that vow myself. I'm in the process of removing all the DRMs from my already published apps.
Added by edit.
This modification is nothing.
So, I recently ported an app from the desktop environment over to windows 8 metro interface. It's a productivity app, so you have to be able to print, right? Well, on the desktop side, it took 4 lines of code to format the documents and print it out on paper. Simple.
Last night, when I started I was surprised that my codes didn't work with the new windows 8 metro interface. So, I began to search everywhere for tutorials on how to print a document in the new interface. That was when I came across hundreds... thousands of cries of anguish from developers before me who also tried to write a printing protocol for the new interface but failed.
There is a printing sample code by MS, but it is probably the most confusing code I have ever seen. It is the embodiment of spaghetti code. Impossible to read and make useful.
Then I found this blog by a developer who finally figured a way to write out a print protocol. His code was 120 lines long! I kept on searching and this was the shortest anyone has ever made it. So, I implemented his code and what do you know it worked. But then my app crashed when I tried to print more than 1 page.
I emailed the guy and he said he was aware of that, but since it took him way too long to figure that out he gave up on printing in his windows 8 apps.
So, I really concentrated and about 70+ lines of codes later I was able to format and print single or multiple pages of documents.
Think about it. On the desktop, it took 4 lines of code. To do the same in metro, it took 200+ lines of code!
I emailed a windows 8 development team member and released some steam. After all, it took me 5 hours to write a printing protocol for my app. What the hell were they thinking?
This morning, I got a reply. He said people have been spamming his mailbox from day 1 about this issue. That's all he said.
Can you believe that? 200+ lines of code just to print a damn "hello world" text string.
This morning, I did some more searchings, and as I suspected there is no other way to print in the new interface.
You see, before with the desktop we could print by sending the string text directly to the printer. The new interface made it impossible. Now, we have to create a new page, format our texts, put everything in the new page, and print an image based on that page. And that's for single page printing. That's as far as that guy got before he gave up. To solve the multiple page printing problem, I had to add in an overflow page to receive the texts that didn't all fit on one page. So, with each additional page, more memory is taken up. This is an extremely resource consuming process.
Who's the genius behind MS's metro team that decided to make printing this complicated? Do they just want us to use facebook all day instead of being productive?
Edited by yenmor, : No reason given.

This message is a reply to:
 Message 14 by New Cat's Eye, posted 09-24-2013 9:45 AM New Cat's Eye has replied

Replies to this message:
 Message 16 by New Cat's Eye, posted 09-24-2013 2:49 PM yenmor has replied

  
Newer Topic | Older Topic
Jump to:


Copyright 2001-2023 by EvC Forum, All Rights Reserved

™ Version 4.2
Innovative software from Qwixotic © 2024